Oban to Craignure 0815 or 0840 (50 mins)
Duart Castle stands guard as the Calmac ferries enter the sound of Mull. The castle dates back to the 13th century with major repairs and further development in the 16th century. The castle was bought back from a ruin in 1911 and treasures 800 years of history to one of Scotland’s oldest clans. The clan seat of the MacLean’s, Duart Castle is one of the last privately owned castles in Scotland. Visitors today can explore the bloody history and beautiful setting.
View the highland home of the infamous Mitford sisters from the Mull shoreline at Gribun rocks. The Mitford family owned the island from 1938 to 1960 before selling the island to Charles Darwin’s granddaughter. Inch Kenneth is one of the most historically important islands in Scotland. Along with Iona, this island has a significant number of important burials of the kings of Scotland. The island was named after St Kenneth, who founded a monastery on the island.
Visit the mausoleum. Lachlan was born in 1761 on the island of Ulva. In 1775 he enlisted and had an impressive military career that lasted over 30 years. After the death of his first wife Jane Jarvis, Lachlan, deeply depressed he returned to Mull where he met and married Elizabeth Campbell in 1807. The British Crown then offered him a position in the colonies. Macquarie is often described as ‘the father of Australia’ due to his work as Governor of New South Wales from 1810 – 1821.
Calgary Bay is a beautiful sandy beach on the North West coast approximately 12 miles from Tobermory. The main settlement at Inivea above the pier was cleared in the 19th century as part of the Highland Clearances. Calgary, Alberta in Canada was named after this bay by Colonel James Macleod the 2nd Commissioner of the North West Territories. Although originally from Skye he used to visit friends at Calgary House whilst on leave from Canada.
Glengorm Castle - café and grounds.
Glengorm Castle is a 19thcentury country house located 4 miles North West of Tobermory. The Mishnish estate was purchased in 1856 by James Forsyth of Quinish. He was an unpopular figure who cleared the township of Sorne to make way for the new house which was completed in 1860. There are fascinating stories surrounding Forsyth’s bullying tactics used to clear the land and also how he was hoodwinked by the locals in naming of the castle.
Tobermory is the main town on Mull with over 1000 inhabitants. It is a picture postcard port with its brightly coloured harbour-front buildings. The younger generation may recognise the location as the setting for the children’s TV show Balamory and the older generations may remember the town giving its name to one of the character in the Wombles of Wimbledon. Away back in the 18th century the British Fisheries Society recognised its potential due to its natural harbour setting and established a fishing community.
Craignure ferry to Oban by 17.05pm
Board the morning ferry from Oban to Craignure on Mull. Oban is best seen from the sea, so don’t miss the opportunity to climb on deck and enjoy the grand spectacle as you journey past the esplanade, Dunollie Castle and island of Kerrera. Keep your cameras ready for the Lismore Lighthouse and Duart Castle. The roads on Mull are mostly single track but in good condition. The route will feature mostly the northern aspect of the island.